Parkdale, with its history of being a picturesque suburban village, is still home to a number of historical buildings. Below is a 1890s view of the northeast corner of Queen Street West and O’Hara Avenue, paired with how it looks currently.
The street is a little more crowded but the building still stands, though the conical tower and other roof ornaments have been removed.
Also, in the early 1880s, Parkdale Masons conducted their meetings on the third floor of McLachlan’s Society hall, but they eventually decided to build their own quarters at the southeast corner of Queen and Dowling. Below can be seen a rendering for their new building, compared to how it looks today.
Not too bad, though it is a little bit less ornate, it has gained a fire escape.
Laycock, M., & Myrvold, B. (1991). Parkdale in pictures: its development to 1889. Toronto: Toronto Public Library Board.